Re-printed with the permission of the Moose Jaw Times-Herald
CCI honours standout athletes:
Prokopetz wins three awards
It came as no surprise when Central Collegiate held its recent Athletic Awards Ceremony that Jenn Prokopetz was called to the awards' podium.


And again.

The graduating volleyball/basketball standout captured three major awards to cap off a brilliant high school career, winning the Female Athlete of the Year Award as well as awards for Miss Volleyball and Miss Basketball.

Prokopetz, who will continue her athletic endeavours on the volleyball court with the University of Regina Cougars next fall, helped the Lady Cyclones win their second straight city volleyball championship and then helped the basketball team capture the city title and gold at the provincial championships, a.k.a. Hoopla in Regina.

Sang Becker and Nelson Towriss were each honoured with two major awards -- Becker was named Male Athlete of the Year and won the Dale Clarke Award as Mr. Basketball and Towriss won the Outstanding Male Academic/Athletic Award and was named Mr. Football.

Maria DeLeon won the Outstanding Female Academic/Athletic Award.

Amy Leipert, meanwhile, won two major awards for two different sports, earning Miss Golf and Badminton Player of the Year.

The track and field team handed out four awards -- Russ neff was Runner of the Year, Pam Fowler was Thrower of the Year, Chris Holoien was Jumper of the Year and Heather McMaster won the Track Leadership Award.

The Lady Cyclones' soccer team honoured four standouts including Narath Uy and Shannon Friesen who share the Miss Soccer Award, Brie Johnstone was Most Improved and Layial El-Hadi won the Spirit Award.

Ryan Milligan, meanwhile, was named Mr. Volleyball and Doreen Morphy was named Miss Curler.

The school also honoured athletes for achievements outside school leagues and events in various sports. The winners included Kailey Smith and Matt Neff for running, Prokopetz, Shannon Usher and Meagan Smith for volleyball, Jesse Barker and Dustin Johnston for speed skating, Ty Johnstone for soccer, James Avery for baseball, Tom Glasrud and Jeremy Williams for judo, Ken Stewart and David Mitchell for lacrosse and Dustin Hayward, Jed McIntyre and Heather Gower for bowling.

Appeared in the Moose Jaw Times-Herald June 25, 2002

back to